- Police Department
- Golf cart law
Golf cart law
New Florida law will require license or I.D. to drive golf cart on Village streets
Starting July 1, 2023, Florida law will require teens to have a valid drivers license or a learner's license to drive a golf cart in the Village. Since one must be at least 15 years old to get a learner's license, it means that 14-year-olds CAN NO LONGER drive golf carts on Village streets, or on any Florida roads once the law takes effect.
As of that date, Florida Statute 316.212(7) will be changed to say:
"A golf cart may not be operated on public roads or streets by a person:
(a) Who is under 18 years of age unless he or she possesses a valid learner's driver license or valid driver license.
(b) Who is 18 years of age or older unless he or she possesses a valid form of government-issued photographic identification."
So if you have a teenager who has been driving a golf cart on local streets, please explain the new law to them and encourage them to always comply.
See state licensing requirements for teens
Which streets are legal to drive on?
In May of 2021, the Village Council enacted an ordinance allowing golf carts to be driven legally on Village-owned streets.
However, Northlake Boulevard, U.S. Highway 1, Alternate A1A and Prosperity Farms Road are not Village-owned streets, so the ordinance does not apply to them. Golf carts have been commonly driving Village streets for decades, but the 2021 ordinance made it legal.
Golf carts and low-speed vehicles, there's a difference
Under state law, golf carts are defined as "a motor vehicle that is designed and manufactured for operation on a golf course ... and is not capable of exceeding 20 miles an hour."
A low speed vehicle looks like a golf cart, but is defined by state law as “any four-wheeled vehicle whose top speed is greater than 20 miles per hour but not greater than 25 miles per hour.” Golf carts are not low-speed vehicles, which have higher safety standards. They have numerous safety equipment requirements, insurance requirements, and can be driven only by licensed drivers, which means one MUST BE at least 16 years old, with a license, to drive one.
Golf carts prohibited on park pathways
Also, if you drive a golf cart on the golf course, please stay on the paths so the grass and dunes don't get damaged. And if you use a golf cart to go to a Village park, please follow Village Code Section 18-46(D)(2) and Section 20-5(5), which limit golf cart use to the park roads and parking lots.
Be safe, and please don't drive on any park walking and jogging paths, whether paved or unpaved.
It's a great experience driving through the Village on a golf cart or low-speed vehicle, but remember to always drive carefully and to be considerate of your neighbors.